Date & time

05 July 2022
14:00 - 19:00

Add to calendar


Automotive Campus (AC45) in Helmond

View location

Sign up

Sign up!

Sign up

ACE Student Award 2022

On Tuesday 5 July, ACE organizes the annual ACE Student Award for its stakeholders, partner companies and the automotive students who graduate there. This year in collaboration with Fontys University of Applied Sciences, combined with a special farewell program for Professor Future Powertrain at Fontys, Rik Baert.

Rik Baert has devoted many years to the realization of research and development into and of new solutions for economical and sustainable automotive energy and drive systems. As of 1 September 2012 Rik has been working as a lecturer Future Powertrain at Fontys University of Applied Sciences. Together with students and employees of the Automotive program, the lectorate has focused specifically on the efficient drive systems of road vehicles. This includes the development of large (for ships) and small (for trucks) engines to reduce emissions from these engines. In his career, Rik has always worked at Fontys and in the industry. Rik is an example for the current hybrid teacher, namely transferring knowledge to students and teachers. In addition, as a hybrid researcher, he has used his knowledge and competences not only for the benefit of the industry but also for society (education).

In August of this year, Rik will reach the retirement age and has decided to stop. 

We don't want to let this pass without a proper goodbye and token of appreciation. Together with you, we would like to crown his career with a festive program during the ACE Student Award.

The program will be closed with a farewell speech by Rik Baert and the ceremony of the ACE Student Award for the winner with the corresponding prize: a 3 or 4 day F1 trip to a GP in Europe for 2 persons (including flight, hotel and race).

After the substantive program we invite you all to the patio of the Automotive Campus for a delicious barbecue where you will have the opportunity to speak with students and companies and to personally say goodbye to Rik Baert.

*For family, friends and colleagues of Rik Baert, the festivities will continue after 19:00.

You can register before 1 July via the button above!




14:00 – 14:15 hrs.


14:15 – 14:30 hrs.

Opening Kees Slingerland and Ella Hueting

14:30 – 16:15 hrs

Presentations nominees Student Award + substantive lectures



  • David Golberg (Hyster-Yale): Electrification performance KPIs – Data collection, analysis and indicators calculation
  • Robbie Verhagen (Nooteboom Trailers): Design uniform gooseneck
  • Apurv Kode (Ebusco): Application of Model-Based System Engineering Methodology for Composite Component Design Optimization
  • Robin Huijerjans (VIRO):  Design NH3 storage tank
  • Martijn Boekhoorn (MTEE):  Preventing turbocharger failure due to high actuator forces

Substantive lectures:

About developments in the automotive domain in which changes are being given shape at a rapid pace, such as transition to emission-free driving, innovative concepts in mobility and all kinds of autonomy in the vehicles.

16:15 – 16:45 hrs.

Jury consultation + break

16:45 – 17:15 hrs.

Rik Baert ceremony Student Award + farewell speech

17:15 hrs.


19:00 hrs.

Personal program Rik Baert (provided by Fontys)*